The Millennial Homemaker

The musings of a Stay at Home Mom

GPS is SPG (backward)

on January 31, 2010

So, are you scratching your head yet? What does GPS have anything to do with SPG? I have known about the acronym “GPS” for a couple of years now. It stands for “Global Positioning System”, and it is used in various cars, cell phones, and other devices for locating a person’s position on planet Earth. I think it can be a valuable tool when someone is lost, but I also think it has a “Big Brother is watching me” feeling as well.

Well, I hope that I will never become lost. What was life like before the GPS days? We relied on good old-fashioned road maps, trip-planners from the local Automobile club, and women (yes, I know… I had to take a stab at that one… the women DO stop and ask for directions). When I was younger someone called me,  ‘Miss Thomas Guide’. He said that I loved maps so much that if I would ride in the trunk of a car and drive across the country, even then, I would still be able to tell him what roads we used to get there.

Okay, so maybe that’s a little creepy. So, what’s my point? Well, by-gone are the days of road maps and asking for directions. All we need now is our little Tom-toms and GPS guides. A nice female voice will “tell” you where and when to turn. Personally, I find that piece of technology a little bit annoying. So, sue me; I am old-fashioned.

Even though GPS can pinpoint your position on Earth, there is an alternative way to view it. It’s called SPG. The meaning of this acronym is “Strategically Positioned by God.” Yes, whether you agree with me or not, every human being on planet Earth has been created at a certain time and a certain place. Your global position in this day and time has also been strategically positioned by the Creator. He knew when you would be born. He knows when you are going to die. He knows where you roam, and He knows where you lie down to sleep. You are watched at all times.

But, the point of this post is NOT to freak you out. It is to encourage you… to remind you that, in spite of our modern technological devices, there is a supernatural force that has been “watching” over you since the day you were born. You are not a mistake; you are not in the wrong place. You are not in the wrong time. You are exactly where you need to be… right now… at this moment… for a purpose.

So enjoy your GPS toys. But, know that your SPG is more valuable. Your life is a light to others. You impact the small world around you by the way you live, how you act, and how you love others.

Leave a Reply

