The Millennial Homemaker

The musings of a Stay at Home Mom

When I grow up, I want to be…

on November 13, 2013

20131113-152333.jpg

Life. A Four Letter Word.

It is so interesting to think about life. When I was a child, I had two dreams: I wanted to be a teacher, or I wanted to be a nurse. As I approached my college-age years, I was undecided as to my future. I had no idea what I wanted to be anymore.

It has taken a long time to walk through the paths I have created, and yet I still have so far to go. But, that is okay with me now, because I have chosen to live life to the fullest potential. There used to be regret, but no more. I have changed my heart attitude about life, and I am enjoying each day as it arrives.

I am a teacher. I am a nurse.

So, I have finally decided what I want to be when I grow up. Yes, I am a teacher (not by professional standards, but I do teach my own children at home, and I occasionally substitute teach at a local school). Yes, I am a nurse (again, not by professional standards, but I do have my bachelors degree in Public Health, and I am constantly learning how to treat illnesses and prevent diseases). But, the MOST important career I have found is mentoring.

I am a Mentor.

Through experience and education I have developed enough sense of this world to come alongside a younger woman to be her mentor. I believe with my whole heart that every young woman out there needs a good mentor. A mentor could be her mother, but most of the time, it is another woman who has the passion and commitment to impact a life.

How do I know I would make a good mentor? For one thing, I have 41 years of life experience under my belt. I may be naive to some people and ideals, but for the majority of general living I have “been there” and “done that.”

  • I am a wife of almost 18 years, so I have some experience on marriage.
  • I am a mother of four children, (which includes three teenage young men), so I have some experience on motherhood.
  • I am a dedicated and loyal friend. Yes, I can give you references from my long-term girl friends.
  • I am passionate and committed to any cause that I find worth saving. Yes, that means I have enthusiasm!

As a mentor I will not be saving anybody, but rather, I am hoping to spark hope and encouragement with the young woman I will become friends. I am human, so I will make mistakes. I may let her down. I may not be able to meet all of her needs.

But, I can listen. I can share my story. I can encourage. I can laugh. I can cry.

Most of all, I can be real. It’s time to take off the mask. It’s time to grow up.

Leave a Reply

