The Millennial Homemaker

The musings of a Stay at Home Mom

Strength is counted by…

on November 21, 2013

… the number of scars.

I was driving down the road today when this thought crossed my mind: strength comes by the number of scars I have.

Well, that doesn’t sound too pretty. Seriously, I think that scars are ugly. They have this white-silvery streak that feels odd on the skin. Scars show damage. They are the result of injury, illness, or disease.

But, scars are a part of life. If we didn’t have scars, we really can’t say that we’ve lived much.

Who hasn’t endured the fall off the bike, the cut from the first shaving experience, or the scab of the chicken pox owie?

But, all of these scars add up. They tell a story of what has happened. They replace the healthy tissue with replacement tissue, and it’s tougher than the original. Hence, the scars create strength in the original area that was vulnerable and weak.

… the number of cords in your rope.

“A three fold cord is not easily broken” is a great statement, and it’s also a verse in the Bible. Strength is found when the “ropes” of your life are held together by two or more strands. These “strands” can be friends, family, or groups that hold you up, hold you accountable, and just plain hold you together.

How do I find/get strength?

In all honesty, I don’t feel like I am strong on most days. I tend to go through the motions of each day. I get up, get ready, and get moving. I have a lot on my plate, and those daily tasks can zap me of my strength. Here are a few examples of ways that I re-fuel my system:

  1. I make sure I get a good night’s rest – a minimum of 8 solid hours of restful sleep.
  2. I make sure I eat breakfast every day – this is necessary to rev up the metabolism.
  3. I make sure I get 30 minutes of exercise done daily. If not daily, then 4-5 times per week.
  4. I make time to find solitude – I find a quiet spot where I can read, pray, meditate, or just stare out the window.
  5. I make sure I “find” ten things to be thankful for each day – this includes positive attributes about myself.

Finding and attaining strength is not for the faint of heart. Only the few will strive for this coveted characteristic in life. Remember, no one is born strong. A newborn baby must make small moves every day to first strengthen the neck in order to hold up the head. Once the head is stable, then the baby will start to use the arm muscles to hold objects, push up on the tummy, and so forth. Eventually, in one year of life, a helpless newborn baby turns into a crawling or possibly walking toddler. Amazing!

If you can find that inner strength, that same determination of a newborn baby, to make small moves every day, can you imagine how different you would be in one year’s time? I have to remind myself everyday that I can be renewed or strengthened far beyond my current limits if I just try to make small changes every day.

Can you do it? Yes! Will you join me? I hope so!

Leave a Reply

