The Millennial Homemaker

The musings of a Stay at Home Mom

Live now. Dream for the future.

on March 14, 2017

I am currently reading through a little book called Beautiful Now by Stasi Eldredge. It is a 90 day devotional that leads a reader through the journey of discovering God’s dreams for you!

Dreaming for the future

As healing as this book has already been for me since I began reading, I still have so many questions about the future. I am sure you have been asked this one:

“Where do you see yourself in five years? What goals do you hope to achieve by then?”

Sometimes those questions can be so obscure. How am I supposed to know where I will be in five years? How do I even know what goals I will attain? Well, I am learning that the answer to these other questions are simply this: look back at the past five years and see where you have come from. Did you reach any new goals in the past five years, whether you set them intentionally or not?

I believe that looking back (don’t overdo it!) can help you set some foundation for what you would like to accomplish in the next five years. IT IS OKAY to dream about the future. It brings hope to a weary spirit. But, it can also bring fear. How so?

Living in the Present

Fear can reside in worrying too much about the future. I believe there is a fine line between dreaming about the future and worrying about the future. Tip the scales either way and you may be way off balanced. It is imperative to find your center.

That’s why it’s so important (I am talking to the choir here) to keep the focus on the present moment. As my pastor at my church says, “Sorrow looks back, worry looks around, but faith looks at the future.” Being positive in the present moment, free from worry, helps me to look to my future with faith… with hope. Teaching my mind to continually find peace in the present moment assures me to have hope and faith in my dreams for the future.

Ready or not… Here it comes!

Yes, just like the game of Hide and Seek, the future is coming whether I am ready or not. It can be daunting to look at from a distance. Just like looking at the bottom of a valley from the top of a mountain, the sheer drop can cause even the strongest person to faint. But, one step at a time… one breath at a time… one heartbeat at a time… the bottom of that impossible mountain is attainable.

How do I wrap this up? How do I live in the present while dreaming of the future? Just as I walk and breathe on a regular basis. Keep my mind focused on the things right in front of me. WITH A GOOD ATTITUDE!! For if not, all  I see are dirty dishes that need to be cleaned; floors that need to be swept. I see a partially empty refrigerator that needs to be filled again. Yes the mundane tasks seem like Groundhog day and can get overwhelming. So, the daily grind must be faced with the right attitude. Then, and only then, does the positive attitude help propel me into the proper frame of mind for dreaming.

Create a list and write it down.

I love how Stasi encourages the reader in Chapter 8 to write down a wish list. Who cares if it is silly or long or seems unattainable? For with God, all things are possible, right??? According to her own experience when she wrote down her Wish List and glanced at it a few years later, ALL of her wishes and dreams had come true! That’s pretty incredible to me. Why? Because it means that she believed in her dreams and made them a reality. She poured faith and hope into her list.

So, whoever is reading this post, would you join me in dreaming for the future? Would you consider writing a list of things you’d like to achieve or experience? If so, please reply. I’d love to hear your story.

With love,

Jeanne20130724-191445.jpg

Leave a Reply

