The Millennial Homemaker

The musings of a Stay at Home Mom

Simple Wonder

on March 15, 2017

“Wonder is the fundamental condition of education.” ~Sarah Clarkson, The Life Giving Home

The freshly mowed grass gleams brightly across the desert landscape. The sun shines down on the earth like a warm, incandescent light-bulb, blurred out by a few cirrus clouds and cooled by the occasional breeze. In the distance a large fence separates two fields of grass. One field beckons the patrons to relax while the other field frames the scene for two teams of players. Spring Training is here. And in full swing.

I feel like a child again. I am so giddy.

The All-American pastime game, Baseball, brings about wonder to most people who attend on any given day. The smell of crackling popcorn, the large pitchers of soft drinks or beer, the fresh hot dogs boiling in the water, and the shaved ice represent the familiar food frenzy that must be consumed during the game.

What is so special about that?

I come back to my childhood memories. Although I did not attend many baseball games during my youth, the games that I did attend were well remembered. Seared into my long-term memory, these games helped me establish the WHY of Wonder.

Sometimes I believe that adults would give anything to return to the innocent days of wonder. To wallow in a pond, run through the sprinklers, chase fireflies at twilight, or even sit behind a wired fence to listen to the crack of a bat and an umpire yell, “Foul!”

Young children may not realize that wonder is a form of education. The young brain is constantly stimulated through real life events and experiences. It begs for more stimuli until the call of mother’s voice begs said child home for dinner. Once a new day begins, the wonder continues again to search for and absorb new memories and delights.

The Simplicity of Wonderment

To Wonder is to embrace the simple joys of life. To chase a butterfly, to sit still and listen to the birds singing on the branches, to lie on a blanket at dusk and wish upon the first star that winks in the night sky.

One of my goals in my mid-life is to slow down and enjoy the wonder of life. Otherwise, the spinning wheel of the daily grind continues to distract, to beg for its own attention, or to discourage the availability of what is always around… the simple wonder of nature.

I slow down. I stop to wonder. I unplug from society and look heavenward. Why?

So I can feel like a child again.

Leave a Reply

