The Millennial Homemaker

The musings of a Stay at Home Mom

Fun and Mental is Fundamental

I can’t help but think of the movie, Mr. Magorium’s Wonder Emporium, when I hear of the word, fundamental. In the middle of the movie there is a transition in the story, and the story continues as if a new chapter is written in the final book of a series of the life of the main character.

As I sit here in the dark, the night before the first day of school, I feel like my a new chapter is unfolding at this moment. If you had told me two years ago (or even one year ago) that I would be in a transitional state right now, I would have doubted you. No one ever quite knows for sure what life will bring in terms of change.

I have heard that some of the major stresses in life include 1) a death in the family; 2) a job change; 3) a change in relationship status; 4) a new baby; 5) educational change.

Well, in trepidation of sharing too much information, I have experienced all but #4 in the past two years. At this point I think that having a baby would be easier than the others! But then again, maybe not… postpartum is a bear!

So why am I writing all of this?

  1. I can’t have a heart to heart with my mom since she is no longer here. Gosh I miss her.
  2. I am starting a new career tomorrow: I am a Kindergarten Teacher. Lord, help me!
  3. Again, maybe it is TMI, but my relationship status has changed. Long story.
  4. No baby here. Thank goodness. But, I will gladly babysit your baby so I can get my baby fix!
  5. Educational change… just when I thought I was all done with school… I now have to take even more classes for Early Childhood Certification. Pray for me!

I hope I don’t sound like a whiny baby. Because I am not. I am being real. I am just really really overwhelmed, and I have a keyboard and a WordPress site and I am typing my thoughts until the adrenaline subsides. Gosh, you are brave if you are still reading this far!

So, yes. Fun and Mental is Fundamental. I am having Fun. I am feeling a little Mental. But, hey all of these things add up to one common thought: LIFE is FUNdaMENTAL.

Wish me luck tomorrow. Those 5-year-olds may look sweet and innocent, but I know I am going to feel like Arnold Schwarzenegger after his first day in Kindergarten Cop!

Leave a comment »

